Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Art plays a crucial role in our life as art is a way for people to express their thoughts and identity. Because of this, many people believe that children should be taught about art at school. However, other people argue that learning art is a waste of time. In my opinion, I completely agree with the first view.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people advocate the view that it is unnecessary to teach art at school. They explain that children should spend as much time as they can on Subjects which prepare useful knowledge for children’s later life, especially for their further education. For example, In Vietnam, many parents think that learning STEM subjects would help children to successfully study in prestigious universities and thus find a lucrative job. Therefore the advocacy towards the view that art should be excluded from the school curriculum is justifiable.

However, this thinking is flawed as learning art does not mean children would have to pursue an artistic career. Art plays a fundamental role in children’s development instead. Through art lessons, children develop their imagination and creativity. Without these developments, children may struggle to grow into dynamic, individual thinkers when they reach their adulthood. Moreover, being creative is also essential in children's further study. For example, creative thinking and imagination, which is developed in childhood would benefit a high school student who wants to study architecture or advertising in universities and even brings them an advantage when they enter the working environment.

In conclusion, although art may seem unnecessary for some people, the benefits that art brings to the development of a child are far more significant.