Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is undeniable that Art forms of any kind are an essential part of our lives. By this virtue, how the government supports arts is always a topic of interest. Some people say that the government’s subsidy on art is redundant and that there are more serious problems which need addressing. I do not agree with this view and my reasons are stated below.

First and foremost, Financing art preservation is an effective way to perverse and promote culture because Arts which comprises of literature, sculptor, paintings, etc. represent a nation’s Identity and cultural heritage. The money allocated from the state budget can be used to protect forms of art. This, therefore, encourages people to learn more about their country’s history and cultural values and increase their patriotism and pride in their nation. For example, by preserving

Another reason to support government funding on arts is that investing in arts also gives a boost to a nation’s economy, especially, tourism. One of the main purposes of the majority of tourists is to discover and experience the culture and lifestyle of local people. They would learn these from art forms. For instance, many people flock to Paris every year to see ancient architectural monuments that have lasted for hundred years. They have to pay for accommodation and other expenses and this would improve the local economy and contribute to the government’s budget which can be allocated to other necessary fields.

Last but not least, the Art industry provides ample employment opportunities. To illustrate, in countries like Britain and France where arts are highly sponsored by the states, there has been a high demand for not just curators, artists, musicians but also writers and authors to fill up the posts in these countries. Without the government’s expenditure on arts to maintain museums or other art institutes, these professions would have no way to make a living, contributing to an increase in the unemployment rate.

In conclusion, It is important for the government to provide financial support to the arts because this will not only preserve a country’s culture but also generate great income.