Topic: as well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been an increasing argument that companies should have more social obligations, rather than only focusing on financial objectives. From my perspective, I am completely convinced of the idea that companies should do more for society than simply making money.

On the one hand, it is understandable why companies put their emphasis on making profits. It seems logical that their top priority is to cover running costs. They have to pay employees’ salaries, buildings and utilities. Moreover, to remain successful and have an edge over their competitors, all businesses have to invest in improvements and innovations. If they are unable to meet the changing needs of customers, they can end up going bankruptcy, and their social obligations become irrelevant. In short, a company only makes positive contribution to society once it is in good financial health.

On the other hand, businesses should not be run with the sole aim of making money, they have a wider role to play in society. One social obligation is that managers and owners have to treat their employees well rather than exploiting them. They can pay their employees a living wage that ensures a better quality of life. I also subscribe the idea that companies spend a proportion of their profit to support local charities and finance environmental projects or education initiatives. Finally, businesses should by happy to make contribution to society through tax system instead of trying to minimize their tax payments by using accounting loopholes.

In conclusion, apart from financial objectives, companies have the responsibilities to support not only their workers but also local communities.