**Some people think that because children find subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult, they ought to be optional instead of compulsory.**

**To what extent do you agree?**

Many people think that demanding subjects such as mathematics and philosophy should be optional in children's curriculum. From my perspective, i do not agree with this opinion, because as difficult as it is, these subjects are incredibly informative and can be helpful for students.

Difficult subjects like maths or philosophy might be quite challenging when children first approach them, but they are also absolutely interesting and fun to learn about. For instance, in philosophy lessons, students get to discover the world and why people see the world so differently from each other. These subjects offer loads of information and introduce students to ideas that they rarely come into contact with; therefore, including them in the curriculum as compulsory subjects would benefit a lot for the children.

Not only do these subjects provide knowledge, they also help students develop a sense of critical and logical thinking. Students are required to find the fastest solution to solve a mathematical problem, which encourages their brain to think carefully and use what they have learned efficiently. Children usually learn much faster than adults and they are natural at picking up information. Instead of making them optional, teachers should improve their teaching methods to help the students adapt to the subjects.

In conclusion, i think that instead of making the subjects optional, both the school and the students should embrace both the challenges and the benefits that these subjects have to offer.