Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that raising the minimum driving age is the best solution to enhance road safety. I disagree with this idea because I believed that other methods are equally important and should be taken into account as well.

On the one hand, I agree that increasing the minimum age for getting driving license can be an effective road safety measure. Firstly, since people are open more mature and have more life experience when they get older, they can make quicker and wiser decisions to avoid dangerous situations on the road compared to younger drivers. My father, for example, will never use his phone when driving as he known that it can be a dangerous distraction for him and draw his attention away from the road. Secondly, raising the minimum driving age can allow adolescents to have more time to sharpen their driving skills. They can attend defensive driving course to learn how to deal with different driving scenarios, which help them minimize the risk of accidents when driving in the future.

On the other hand, I believed that better road safety can be achieved by more effective methods without increasing the driving age. To begin with, more stringent traffic regulations should be imposed, which would act as a deterrent to would-be traffic lawbreakers. In our country, the government should be grant heavy punishment and it would be applied for the drivers who run the red light. Therefore it makes the driver more responsible in order to avoid future punishment s. In addition, authorities should allocate financial resources to improving public transport and road maintenance, which would encourage citizens to use public transport despite driving private cars or motorbike. As a result, these residents will no longer worry about the risk they are faced when driving their own vehicle, such as drunk driving or falling asleep at the wheel.

In conclusion, while raising the legal driving age make our roads safer to some extent, I believe that governments should also introduce other road safety measure that is discussed above.