A few people believe that the finest way to enhance road safety is to raise the least lawful age for driving a motor car or motorcycle. I totally disagree with this, I believe major road traffic accident happens by people who drink and drive; additionally, another major reason is people consume drug and drive, this not only endangers drivers but also threatens foot walkers.

Firstly, often road safety compromises due to some naive who drink and drive, consequently, it puts people in danger who walk on the street. In many developed nations, this is a common problem regardless of age. For example, in the USA 18% of car owners drink and drive occasionally, according to the recent survey conducted by the New York Times newspaper. It has also reported that 12% of car owners die or kill someone on the street in such accidents.

Secondly, drug addicts are another major reason why road accidents occur. In many developed nations, youngers are the drug victim, they consume drugs and drive a car or a motorbike. Drug addicts get an episode craving for drugs and become more aggressive while they are driving vehicles. In such a condition, they meet with road traffic accidents. In most cases, such accidents kill car drivers and put other people’s lives at stake. For instance, although street race is illegal in the USA it takes place at nights, and many hipsters race in exchange for money. Such events cause the dodging of road safety rules and regulations.

To conclude, as road safety is a concern there are many threats linked with it and to mitigate those threats the government should control alcohol sales and take out drugs off the street completely.