Machines have made people’s life extremely easy, especially computers are in use for translating foreign languages instantly and precisely. Even though this statement is true, people learn various foreign languages to pursue higher education and to establish their professional career in the developed countries. This essay argues that learning other languages is not a waste of time.

With the advent of technology, language translation has become simpler than before. The computer is faster than the human brain therefore it translates language in a fraction of a few seconds, but it does not help to communicate in a clear way. In many developing countries, English is a foreign language; hence if students from such countries would like to pursue further education overseas they have to sit for the English exams like the IELTS or the TOFEL to prove their ability to speak, write, listen and read in English. For instance, Indian students who wish to go abroad for higher education must accomplish better scores in the IELTS exam. Therefore, learning foreign languages is not a waste of time.

Learning for career opportunities is another reason why people choose to learn foreign languages. Many multinational organizations require that candidates should speak several languages as a part of their job roles. For instance, the sales manager of an international organization might need to visit other countries to meet and greet business coordinators where they must communicate in the national language. It is not feasible to have computers to translate delicate business discussions therefore those cannot be used in place of verbal communication.

In conclusion, even though computers translate almost all languages quite fast and desirably, learning foreign languages for the personal and professional growth of human beings would never be considered a waste of time.