Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The general view has been that the development of the minimum driving age is the best solution to intensify road safety. I disagree with this idea due to the importance in the other methods which should be taken into this account as well.

On the one hand, it can not be denied that increasing the minimum age for getting a driving licence bringing about the effection of road security. In fact, the older people make quicker and wiser decisions to avoid dangerous situations reusulting from matureness and life experience, compared to younger drivers. For instance, my father never uses his phone when driving since he know that he could easily lose concentration leading to an accident. Furthermore, if raising the minimum friving age is enforced, it will allow teenagers to have more time to improve their driving skills. They can attend defensive driving courses to learn how to deal with different friving circumstance which produce the diminishment of the risk of accidents in the future.

On the other hand, I believe that road security can be achieved by various affective methods without increasing the driving age. To begin with, more stringent traffic regulation should be imposed, which would play a role as a deterrent to law breakers. Additionally, to tackle the growing of driving private cars and motorbike, government should allocate financial resources to advance public transport which encourages the citizens. As a result, these residents will no longer worry about unpredictabilities they may face when driving their own vehicles, such as drunk driving or falling asleep at the wheel.

To sum up, although ascalating the legal driving age is cause of the improvement in some extent of road protection, I think that other measures discussed above need to be introduced by the government.