Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although some people assume increasing the legal age for driving or riding as a best way to reduce road accident but people have different views about whether the age has sufficient effect on the mentioned issue to be prominent of the effective parameters. Personally, I believe that it can have a minor effect and other elements like education, supervision and so on are more important rather than age.

To begin with, it seems education is one of the most important item which has a significant role to diminish road accident and it is not deniable. Of course, it should be presented in a right way and continuously. For example there are a lot evidence that prove that the effect of driving educational announce by the Medias like radio and TV.

Supervision as a second item will have big effect to increase road safety. For instance, using the speed cameras especially in the dangerous roads will be led to reduction of risks because of direct relation of speed and accidents. Moreover, using other tools such as GPS in order to driver's activity observation will be useful.

Finally, the quality of cars, bikes and roads should be considered as a drastically important factor. In the other words, any failure or defects in the vehicles or the roads may be equals to serious repercussion regardless of driver's age. As a clear example, if the brakes of car or bike fail, a driver with higher age cannot control the vehicle as the younger one.

On the other hand, the people that believe the minimum age for driving should be increased may refer to the calmer and less excitement of older people which is not deniable but it seems to have a lower effect in comparison with other mentioned factors.

In conclusion, while I do not refute the effect of increasing the minimum age for driving completely, I believe that it is not the best way to increase road safety and other parameters have more effect.