SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT THE BEST WAY TO REDUCE CRIME IS TO GIVE LONGER PRISON SENTENCES. OTHERS, HOWEVER, BELIEVE THERE ARE BETTER ALTERNATIVE WAYS OF REDUCING CRIME.

DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

Perhaps crime has been considered one of the most crucial issues in this contemporary society. While some people are of the opinion that it is vital to give longer prison sentences to reduce crime rate, I am in favor of the fact that there are other measures to tackle this phenomenon. Therefore, the objective of this essay is to give possible reasons to prove my belief.

On the one hand, there are various views about why giving lengthy prison sentences plays an essential role in limiting crime. First of all, it is regarded as a deterrent to potential offenders in order to raise their awareness of the consequence they might suffer if they tend to commit illegal activities. For example, they may be able to end up their lives in jail, which will affect their future prospects. Another point worth mentioning is that this way is similar to a severe punishment so that prisoners have an opportunity to rehabilitate themselves so as to become useful citizens and avoid reoffending after being released from the prison.

On the other hand, as far as I am concerned, a number of other appropriate methods should be taken into account to deal with this situation. The first thing is that the government is advisable to take responsibilities for creating a wide range of suitable jobs for people with different levels of education. By doing this, everyone will be able to make ends meet in their own lives. This will be one of the promising factors contributing to the dramatic decline in the unemployment rate which is the root of social evils. In addition, new legislation needs to be issued to regulate the appearance of violent films and games that have a negative impact on the society since people have a tendency to mimic what they see in order to solve their personal conflicts with surrounding people.

In conclusion, it is a double-sided issue with opposite opinions. Nonetheless, I still hold my belief that finding other suitable solutions is more effective than introducing longer jail sentences.