People have different views about whether extended imprisonments should be fixed as punishments. Although there are some alternatives to the latter, I am of the view that the aim of mitigating criminal actions can only be served by longer prison sentences.

On the one hand, supporters of lengthy punishments in prisons opine that only these solutions could decrease the high percentage of crimes. It is clear that criminals need to be punished in some way. A person who commits a crime must learn that unlawful actions have consequences. Prison sentences punish offenders because they lose their freedom, and are separated from family and friends. In this way, longer prison sentences act as a deterrent to make people think carefully before breaking the law. A good example of this is the implementation of extended prison sentence for indoors smoking in a lot of European countries; surveys show that this punishment deterred from similar behaviour in the future.

On the other hand, opponents of such sentences state that alternatives, such as community service or fines, could serve the same goal of reducing crime. Community service is a solution to prison overcrowding, and it avoids the negative influence that prison can have. Moreover, fines are a beneficial deterrent of crimes especially during global financial crises. However, all the above are not sufficient punishments, since the criminals are not locked up, away from their victims. According to a recent research, in countries where white collar crimes were punished only with fines, offenders committed a similar crime after a few months.

In conclusion, despite the advantages of alternatives to longer prison sentences, it seems to me that we could eliminate crime rates only by increasing life in prisons.