Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in traveling to work is to replace park and garden close to the city centre with apartment buildings where computer can live to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an undeniable fact that, in recent time, travelling time to work is increasing. Therefore, it is believed by some that, to replace the parks and gardens with the residential building is the only way to reduce it. However, I certainly disagree with such an opinion to a large extent, and the reasons for my stand will be analyzed further.

There are several factors behind increasing travelling time to work, beside of long-distance. Firstly, traffic congestion on the road. What I mean to say by this is that, as the economy of the nation increase, the purchasing power of the people may also rise, therefore in millennium days, the majority of people have the personal vehicles. As a result, the volume of vehicle on the road is increased, and the flow of traffic maybe declined. That is why, people may spend more time on travelling. Due to this, according to one research, in India, 50% of Indians are spent more time on travelling than ever before.

Furthermore, it would be created many other hurdles. By this I mean, if the parks and gardens are demolished to make a new way for apartment, it would be made city as concrete jungle, and may lead to the increase in the temperature of that area than nearby areas. Secondly, it would be leaded to many health problems. In other words, if there are no gardens, parks or trees than the level of air pollution would be increased. Because, it is proven that greenery help to reduce the proportion of air pollution, which is the main cause of fatal disease like skin cancer.

On the contrary, such a decision might be helpful to reduce travelling time at certain level. In simple terms, if residential area are built near the city center, than people may be preferred to go to work by walking, it would decline the use of private vehicle, thus conjunction on the road also be fall. It is noticed that, the volume of vehicle on the road is lesser than the time for travelling will be reduced. For example, in the USA, after introducing apartment in the city center, the number of vehicles on the road drop by around 12%, and flow of traffic also increased.

In conclusion, I reiterate that build residential area in the place of gardens and parks is not a effective way to reduce travelling time, as there are other many factors are involved, such as traffic on the road, and if gardens are demolished, it would lead to increase in temperature and air pollution, however it might be reduced the problem to some extent, as the people might be preferred walking to go office, thus the congestion on road will be declined.