Some people think that the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As deterioration of the environment has become increasingly destructive in recent years, some people suggest that the price of fuel should be raised to tackle the issue. I disagree with this suggestion since its drawbacks would overshadow its merits.

The primary reason is that the fuel which is often known as fossil fuel and used for powering vehicles, is rare. The quantity of the energy is limited and there are no viable replacements for them for the time being. Even though other energy sources such as electricity or hydrogen are on their way to become the main source of power for transportation, they are yet researched or initially tested due to lack of relevant infrastructure and facilities. That is why their applications in large scale seem to impractical at the moment.

Furthermore, the increment of fuel cost would have detrimental impacts upon global economy and society. This is because the role of fuel is fundamental. It contributes a large proportion to production cost of other goods. Therefore, when the price of fuel is increased, other types of merchandise are likely to go up simultaneously. This is one of the main culprits of inflation, in which the price of all commodities rise. The phenomenon in turn exerts a great budern on the less well-off individuals. This stems from the fact that fuel expenditure, is linked to the value of other basic commodities which make up their living cost. Thus, the lives of millions of people may be impacted.

In the light of these facts, if the charge of fuel went up, global economy would be effect due to the scarcity of the energy. More importantly, it would place national economies and their citizens at risk of inflating price of goods which may threaten the lives of many people.