Some people think that the best way to become successful in life is to get a university education, whereas others say this is no longer true. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While it is believed that the role of the university in the success of individuals in life is of primary importance, other people think otherwise. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and explain why the position of the university is still fundamental in one's career progression.

There are three main reasons why universities still play a significant role in one's career path. The first point is that universities are historically trusted by society to supply their young civilians with adequate training and hands-on experience. These components are primitive for the undergraduate, which enable them to meet the requirements when they enter the workforce. Additionally, students in university can establish their network with like-minded people, which acts as the precursor for business relationships in their later work life. If young people are unable to attend universities, it may take them a myriad of resources such as money, time, and energy to build relations with other businessmen. Finally, as university degrees have been referred by employers for a long period, business owners have a tendency to favor the qualification to other factors in order to employ new staff. It is thus thought that university still holds the key to career achievement among people.

The proliferation of in-depth professional qualifications and the degradation of quality in certain tertiary organizations in recent years has downplayed the importance of university certificates. It is becoming increasingly ubiquitous that some specialized degree replaces the conventional role of university education in the labor market. One case in point is that CFA, a certificate in finance, which is given to those who complete the relevant course, is regarded as one of the foremost requirements for those who crave for working in the domain of finance. The advent of such certificates has eclipsed the significance of the conventional university in job seekers' employability. Another factor that lessens the prevalence of university education is originated from the irresponsibility of some pedagogical insiders in universities. These people tend to ignore the nature of tertiary education to maximize their profit-making. They can go so far as to lower the entrance criteria in order to receive more students, which increases their profit margin accordingly. That is why education from university is less likely to be valued and recognized as it was.

In sum, even though university education may be overshadowed by a host of brand-new certificates and scandals, universities still play an integral part to equip their students with know-how, experience, and valuable relationships. Therefore, I concur with the view that one's future development will still hinge on universities.