Some people believe that an increase in fuel prices is the best way to tackle global environmental problems. Although this idea could help reduce harmful fumes, I think there are some better and alternative solution to these issues.

In the first place, not only does the policy of raising the fuel cost burden citizens financially, but it also has very few positive changes in the environment. First, gasoline become more expensive may cause companies whose top priority is making profits increasing the price of their products to cover the arising transportation cost. This result in the goods on the market become less affordable, and citizens have to pay more for their living expenses. Second, raising fuel costs is not the best solution as fuel can be considered one of the most necessities of human kind. No matter how costly it will be, people will still willing to buy it to satisfy their demand, which fails to meet the initial purpose of saving the environment.

Another solution that is able to deal environmental issues without entailing financial difficulties for people in ensuring the quality of mass transit. For example, the government can either allocate national budget for the equipment of modern air-conditioners inside the bus or the addition of bus routes. When people feel comfortable and convenient to use, public transportation will attract more and more passengers which results in the reduction of private vehicles and harmful fumes emissions. This is also what the government in Vietnam have carried out in recent year. Therefore, the local atmosphere is reported to have seen considerable improvements.

In conclusion, although we can't deny the effect of raising the fuel costs, it's still not the best way to solve the environmental problems. In fact, the ideal solution would be raising the quality of mass transit system. Once those solutions are taken, the global environmental problems can slowly improved.