Some people believe that speaking is more powerful in communication, compared to writing. In my opinion, I agree that although writing has certain benefits, it is speaking which has a bigger effect.

Admittedly, writing is an effective tool in everyday communication. In the workplace, written messengers, emails, and documents are essential because writing forms can be saved for a certain period and are usually stated very clearly. If there are any problems, the receivers as well as the sender can reread repeatedly to avoid miscommunication. Additionally, written documents are usually required in legal procedures. This is the reason why many important documents including reports, emails, and job descriptions are usually kept in written form. For example, when I want to send a report to my boss and I have to keep it secret because of the crucial of its content. Thanks to the written form that I can perfectly send it with no one's notice.

Nevertheless, the effect of spoken communication is much more significant than that of written communication. The first reason is speaking enables people to emotionally connect with their listeners, as opposed to writing is difficult to express the sender's feelings and attitudes directly. The tone of someone's voice can powerfully convey a wide range of emotions, which is why some people can inspire and influence others simply through a powerful speech, a song, or a piece of poetry. Secondly, misunderstanding can also be easily prevented because people can directly and immediately receive a response while writing has to take a long time to prepare, send and receive a reply.

In conclusion, despite the undeniable benefits of written communication, spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. However, both spoken and written communication have their purposes, benefits, and drawbacks, so people have to carefully consider which communication to apply in each specific situation.