Some people think that books should be stopped in school and that videos films and computers should be used instead. To what extent do you agree?

In today’s world, most countries have shown great concern about the technologies used in schools. Controversy exists as to whether books should be stopped due to the popularity of videos, films, and computers. From my perspective, I remain unconvinced that videos, films, and computers will replace books.

To begin with, the most frequent factor contributing to this view is that reading books makes humans emotionally intelligent. This is because while people read a book, their brains will imagine the event, the situation, the characters, and the details coming up described by the author. In fact, research at Emory University found that reading a novel heightens connection in the human brain. Therefore, reading can encourage people’s imagination. Meanwhile, videos, films, and computers provide apparent actions and records. That means there is no need for people to imagine anything related to the content of performances. Consequently, in this case, books are better than modern technologies.

In addition, one explanation to support this view is that reading improves concentration, while other technologies do not. In fact, studies in this field have shown that when people read a book, all of the brain's attention is focused on the story or gaining a better understanding of a particular topic. To put it in another way, the rest of the world just falls away and people can immerse themselves in every fine detail they are absorbing. For this reason, after this period, attention span is improved. One the contrary, videos and films lessen our focusing time. In reality, many statistics in this field indicated that the constant use of technologies has shortened our attention span from 12 minutes to 5 minutes. Furthermore, constant newsfeeds and videos that are 10 minutes or less have rewired our brains. To this extent, books are more suitable than technologies.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that books bring many benefits which other types of technologies cannot do, especially in emotion and attention. As a consequence of this, books will not be substituted by the amenity of modern technologies