Some people think that children should learn to paint or draw at school. Others believe it is just a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion and example

People have different views about whether school curriculums should involve art-based activities such as painting and drawing. While some people are in favor of this idea, I reckon that such activities are not necessary owing to its time-wasting nature.

On the one hand, there are several reasons to believe that incorporating artistic requirement into school curriculums can bring about benefits to children. Firstly, activities such as drawing and painting help foster children’s creativity and imagination, which cultivates their early mindset development. Secondly, by taking part in activities requiring group effforts such as drawing and painting, children would be exposed to develop teamwork spirit and sense of community, which is necessary and crucial. Thirdly, apart from tedious and monotonous academic lessons such as literature and mathematic, art serves as a relaxing subject in which pupils can relieve stress after long-hour studying since concentration is no longer required.

On the other hand, I hold the perspective that teaching children artistic subjects appears to be time-wasting and unnecessary. Obviously, not all children possess talents and desires in painting and drawing. Thus, should they compelled to do things they are not fond of, undesirable impacts such as resentment and negative attitudes towards schooling is inevitable. School boys, for instance, are usually active and hence prefer playing sports such as football rather than sitting still to complete a piece of art. Furthermore, parents expect their children to be imparted academic knowledge such as literature and mathematic rather than painting and drawing in which teachers are not required and can be effortlessly conducted at home as a pastime.

In conclusion, artistic subjects such as painting and drawing, albeit holding certain benefits, should not be made compulsory as part of school curriculum. Rather, academic subjects should be the focal requirement of an education.