Some people think that children should obey rules and do what their parents and teachers

want them to do. Others believe that children controlled very much are not well-prepared for

their adult lives. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Parents’ and teachers’ supervision over young individuals has been capturing significant public attention in recent decades. Given the common suggestion advocating children’s total adherence to adults’ control sounds plausible, it could be fraught with many negative ramifications related to their future prospects.

On the one hand, it true that youngsters are obliged to follow parents’ and teachers’ rules. First, complying with adults’ regulations could steer children away from social evils, which would breed the juvenile delinquency and felony commissions in the future. For example, without parental guidance, young individuals can easily fall prey to negative peer pressure, including alcoholism and substance abuse, increasing their possibilities of committing more serious crime such as mugging or even premeditated homicide in order to have money to purchase drugs. Second, in many cultures especially oriental ones, total obedience to older generations’ rules signifies the fulfilling of both moral codes and reverence, which stigmatizes young individuals if they defy. In fact, in Vietnam, if youngsters do not follow teachers’ guidance, they would be deemed spoiled and uneducated, which will be such humiliation to a family.

On the other hand, this pattern could feed into children’s passivity in the future. First, Due to constant exposure to adults’ strict control, youngsters have a penchant for feeling the sense of oppression of their inner characteristics. This would provoke the social inhibition and self-undervaluation in individuals in their adolescence, limiting their interaction and connection with other people when growing up as they do not have a predilection for self-expression. In addition, rigid control over adolescents actually could breed youngsters’ higher intentions of antagonism and antipathy against the parents or teachers, hampering their bonding and sentiments.

In conclusion, I believe that absolute obedience to parents or teachers’s rules could result in young people’s vulnerability to self-oppression and relationship collapse. By loosening up the control and attempting to understand youngsters’ preferences, the aforementioned issues could easily be addressed.