Some people think that criminals should be given long term in prison, so as to reduce to crime rate. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that the people who commit crimes should be locked behind bars longer to minimize the crime rate. In my opinion, I believe that extending these individuals’ imprisoning term is not the most efficient way to reduce the number of crimes.

On the one hand, increasing the time staying in prison for criminals does decrease the crime rate in some aspects. Giving the convicts a longer penalty could make the outside remaining ones somewhat afraid of committing more crimes. Because the criminals are now aware of how long the punishment they have to take when they get caught, these people will then decide more carefully before committing any crime. One example for this is the re-announcement of up to 10 years of imprisonment for stealing by the Vietnam Assembly; since then, the rate of such crime has gone down noticeably.

On the other hand, governments could consider several other options to minimize this raising crime rate. Firstly, education is always an effective method for this matter. If people are being fully educated at young ages, good perception and behavior to stay away from committing crimes will be build up through time, which definitely stops the increasing of crime rate in the long term. Secondly, the authorities should also invest more budget on the security of their communities. Be establishing surveillance cameras and police on the streets, the crime rate will be vastly and drastically reduced to benefit the society.

In conclusion, while imprisoning people longer is one way to slow down the increase of crime rate, there are other method that is worth the governments’ consideration.