Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of process?

There is an opinion that it is not necessary to conserve old architectures. In fact, some people think these buildings should be destroyed to make room for new ones. In my views, I believe these old houses not only display a country’s historical culture but also offer great benefits.

On the one hand, the ancient buildings is much beneficial to be maintained with conservative efforts. By keeping these buildings intact, the diversity of the cities’ structure will not be restricted in just modern high towers or skyscrapers. Such variety in architecture will make the cities more vibrant with both ancient and modern buildings blending together in harmony. Furthermore, these old houses are the sites to attract tourists from many countries around the world. Therefore, the conservation of the old architecture will eventually bring profits to the economy.

On the other hand, the process to achieve approval for the demolition of historical structures could be interrupted by history. Firstly, since the majority of people still worship the ancestors, these structures become the spiritual places to remember their history. Hence, these particular individuals will absolutely not agree to destroy the historic properties. Secondly, for educational purposes, the ancient structures are the evidences of historical stories that are passed down through generations. Without these buildings, all the tales or legends about the ancestors will be forgotten in the future. Thus, it will lead to the demise of a country’s historic culture.

In conclusion, despite the fact that the cities need to construct more modern buildings, maintaining old ones still offers large benefits and in the same time, conserve the country’s history.