Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time

Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Some people think that teaching children music and painting at school is important while others say that arts-based subjects are wasting students' time. Although art subjects improve children's emotions, this essay believes that it is better when children spend their time studying science-related subjects.

On the one hand, art subjects enhance students' emotions about many aspects of life. this is to say that children are taught to evaluate every piece of music or drawing better. this leads to a deeper understanding of school children in the meanings conveyed in songs and paintings. children can then relate what they have learned to real-life aspects. For example, my fifth-grade friends who focused on piano classes always have deep thoughts about hardships in life to share. However, this essay believes that art subjects will not do wonders to the future of children if they cannot compete with others in the job market.

On the other hand, science-related subjects equip children with practical skills to meet every company's needs in the future. this is because employers mostly look for people who are skillful at computer and math-solving rather than those who can sing and draw. For instance, students who master math, physics and computer skills can easily secure any jobs while those who focused on art subjects can barely find a position in any company and even in their own field. this essay believes that science subjects provide essential skills to children and they worth more time compared to arts-based subjects.

In conclusion, while music and painting lessons help children have more depth in their thinking, these lessons are wastefully consuming children's time and subjects such as math and physics are more worthwhile.