Some people think that men and women have different qualities. Therefore, some certain jobs are suitable for men and some jobs are suitable for women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I has been implied that only certain jobs are suitable for each gender because of the difference of qualities between the two opposite sexes. In my opinion, while this idea might be true in the past, it is not correct to apply in the modern world.

In the past, the difference between men and women were extremely huge that only a few unprofessional jobs were available for the weaker sex while men were getting all the perfect careers. For example, the most popular occupations for women in the 19th century was cooking and sewing because most people agreed that women did not meet the required strength for outdoor jobs. As can be seen, the biggest difference that separated jobs for each gender was the strength and stamina between sexes. Moreover, while men tended to have faster speed of making reliable decisions than women, they usually took bigger jobs such as sheriffs, hunters and doctors while women stayed indoor and took housing as an occupation.

However, the aforementioned statement is not truly correct in the modern world. Firstly, equal education is being provided to both genders widely, which means the skills and abilities of both genders are becoming balanced. With almost identical qualities, the line between men and women is fading and occupations are now available to the two genders equally. Secondly, scientists have stated that women’s body and brain can operate as much and strongly as men’s because there are no differences in humans’ structure. Theoretically, women have the same qualities as men to compete in any majors.

In conclusion, saying that men and women fit in different majors due to the difference of qualities is not exactly correct these days.