Some people think money is the best gift to give to youngsters, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions differ as to whether using money as a gift to young people is the best idea. I believe it is not the best option.

It is understandable why some individuals think that money is the perfect gift to youngsters. One reason is that most nowadays adolescents tend to be more financial demanded for personal needs and neglect their study. Giving money, therefore, is a fair trade to convince the young concentrating on their formal education, which could result in the improvement of academic performance. Another reason is unlike other gifts which adults have to pick up from shops, putting money in an envelope consumes almost no time. Thus, it is an easier option for those who are tight with their schedules, yet do not wish to miss out their children’s important events.

Having said that, money should not be overused due to several negative impacts on young people. One reason to support my standpoint on this matter is that bad habits amongst children could be formed when parents frequently hand out money to reward or celebrate their kids’ results at school or birthdays. Among various bad effects, perhaps the most dangerous one could be the perpetual relying on receiving money to work. Without money, these youngsters are unlikely to study willingly. Furthermore, other types of gifts such as a hand-made origami flower or a traveling trip would strengthen the family bonds as well as deliver meaningful messages to the kids.

In conclusion, I side with those who think gifting money to young individuals could be somewhat detrimental. However, either what types of gifts parents choose to surprise their children, the sole purpose is still bringing joy to young ones.