In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, humans are facing many health problems due to the high consumption of fast food. Some say that, in order to address this situation, governments should levy a higher tariff on this food type. I completely side with this idea.

To begin with, imposing a higher tax will radically stop people from buying too much fast food. If sellers are charged more by the government, they will have to increase the price of high-calorie products to maintain the margin profits. This makes customers hesitate when buying this type of food because there are other options that cost the same or even cheaper. In Korea, for example, there used to be an outbreak of fast food on the streets in 2012, however, since the higher tariff in 2014 forcing sellers to increase prices, the consuming rate has been vastly reduced.

The reduction of using fast food also creates a subsequent impact on companies and sellers. Even though they attempt to keep the same profit by raising the food price, the loss of a substantial number of customers still costs them a massive amount of money. These fast food suppliers will then have no choice but change to selling other non-taxable foods, which are usually healthier, or cut down the production of high-calorie foods. For instance, many local vendors in Ho Chi Minh City selling French fries and hot sausages have stopped their businesses due to poor sales of high food price after the announcement of tax increase from the government in 2015.

In conclusion, a stronger levy by the authority will definitely prevent the mass consumption of fast food these days. As a result, health problems caused by this concerning issue could be effectively solved.