In many societies, elderly people often live in retirement homes. This is not appropriate because families should always care for their aging members. Do you agree?

senior citizens are often sent to live in retirement homes. Many people say that this seems unethical because old people should always be taken care of by their children at home. I totally disagree with this idea because professionals in retirement homes give better care to the elderly and older people will find it easier to make friends when they live in these places.

The elderly will benefit from better healthcare with the help of caregivers, nurses and doctors. this is because children do not have much knowledge about good diets and early signs of diseases to keep their parents healthy at home. Hence, sending older people to retirement homes means that these worries will be eased by professionals. For example, a study of the University of Society in Ho Chi Minh City shows that citizens living in retirement homes have better health in general compared to those taken care of by their children at home.

Furthermore, it is more enjoyable when staying in retirement homes because older people can easily make friends and have conversations with others. this is because these people are mostly in the same generation and they usually share the same ideas and interests. Therefore, they can just engage in conversations with everybody and enjoy their moments. For instance, research in the home of The old in Hanoi indicated that 95% of members living in this place felt happy as they could talk and drink coffee with others every day.

In conclusion, sending aging members in families to retirement homes may seem inappropriate; however, it is for the good of senior citizens as they will get the best care for their health and become more satisfied with their lives by being able to have conversations and have fun every day.