Some people think that higher education should free for everyone. Some others, however, think that it should not be free. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

Opinions differ as to whether tertiary education should be offered free of charge. I believe it should not be free.

It is understandable why some people say that higher education should be provided to everyone for free. One reason is that such a development would create more opportunities for each individual, especially the poor. Since university education is the main key to securing a career, being assisted with finance in high-level studying grants poor students a chance to attain a brighter future. Another reason is that the idea of elitism in the society could be possibly eradicated. An equitable distribution of tertiary education for all people regardless to any financial background would indicate that richness does not mean the wealthy has more privileges than the poor.

However, I would side with those who think that people have to pay the expenses when deciding to pursue higher education. One reason to support my standpoint on this matter is that the tuition fees come from students will help to improve the quality of their own study. Firstly, this money will be used to extend schools’ facilities and upgrade studying equipment which ensures the best experience for people. Secondly, such revenues will be allocated to the salaries of lecturers, which means their enthusiasm for lecturing will be increased vastly resulting in greater academic performances of students. Furthermore, the funding from governments is finite as university education is not a part of compulsory schooling. Therefore, the burden of expenses should be partly shared with every person who enrolls in university.

In conclusion, I assert that higher education should not be delivered to everyone without any charge as high-level institutes require a large amount of money to maintain and expand the quality of education while the authority could not fully sponsor in terms of finance. A proper provision of formal schooling will be a decisive factor to the future well-being of the population.