In many societies, elderly people often live in retirement homes. This is not appropriate because families should always care for their aging members.

Do you agree?

In many societies, elderly care done by others, rather than the family, is socially stigmatised and families are morally expected to look after their elderly. While many communities believe old age homes are pragmatically significant.This essay would argue why the idea that only children should care for their parents in old age is outdated and inherently flawed.

To commence with, many claim that parents should be looked after by their offsprings as a gesture of reciprocation for the love and affection their parents gave them, while they were young and dependent. Nonetheless, this superficial ideology is hardly practical nowadays, since families have the least amount of time left for their loved ones. As the elderly need attention and time both, children, today, are least likely to look after them.

Furthermore, plethora of cases worldwide suggest the plight of elderly at the hands of their own children. They are consciously neglected. To elaborate, they are refused the access to basic necessities like nutritional food and are tortured physically too. In a recent report, it was concluded that Indian pensioners living with their families suffered domestic violence at least twice.

Moreover, pensioners once earned and paid taxes to their governments, while they were young, so that they will be supported by them during their vulnerable times. Consequently, the pensioners qualify for a convenient and dignified life during their final years, constitutionally as well as fundamentally.

To conclude, governments cannot avoid the responsibility of their older generation by simply imposing their care on family. Old people deserve a respectful living on the basis of the contribution they made while they worked, not the disgrace and torture brought about by their loved ones.