Some people think that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as money-making traditions aimed at tourists. Others, however, believe that it is the only way to save these traditions.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Taking advantage of cultural traditions to exploit money from tourists has been increasing in many places. While some regard this as a countereffect, some consider this as an opportunity to retrieve those traditions. This controversial issue has pros and cons, which should be discussed thoroughly.

On the one hand, traditional values have been used as a tool to gain profits. Some locals astutely charge additional fees or higher amounts than the accepted rate that is allowed by the government when they see tourists. For example, in some famous attractions in Vietnam, such as Da Nang or Nha Trang, the government has discovered that there were many situations in which local people charged unreasonable prices for the local cuisine and specialities. Even though these cases were quickly penalized and handled, the customers’ experiences, the images of the country as well as the tourism sector have been affected deeply. Consequently, travellers may not come back to that place of interest in the future, and rumours about that experience can go on, which later may damage the economic sectors comprised of tourism and transportation.

On the other hand, some cultural traditions are on the edge of being endangered, as there are only a few people left who can actually know about it. Some traditions were death as a result of the rise of the economy and technology, people neglected some cultural aspects as those did not bring them money to earn a living. However, those can be saved with tourism. For example, there are many tours in the South, and the North of Vietnam hosted at the traditional handicraft village, where tourists can see or have hands-on experience in doing some craft bags made from banana or coconut leaves. By virtue of such, locals have money, either from the tour or by selling genuine handmade products to travellers, to maintain their craft business and keep the traditions of the country.

Keeping traditions in the dynamic and non-stop evolving world is not an easy job. If things are regarded as two sides of the problem, it is understandable that earning money from tours comprised of cultural traditions may not be entirely negative. Therefore, I deem that it is reasonable to use certain traditions as a money-making tool to target tourists.