Some people think that current environmental issues are global problems and should, therefore, be dealt with by the government while others believe that these problems can only be tackled by individuals. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is true that whether the solutions to environmental problems should be originated from authorities or individuals is a subject of debate. While reasons can be given to justify the former, the latter is much more preferable.

On the one hand, there are compelling reasons to think that governments play a pivotal role in mitigating environmental problems. Firstly, these issues are considered as market failures that need to be intervened by the national and local authorities. It is obvious that the environment is regarded as a public good which is kind of ‘Everybody's business is nobody's business’, and thus, each individual does not have sustainable behaviors. As a result, by imposing green taxes, the government could make the environment better. Secondly, the government could encourage green business which has not reached high productivity. For example, sustainable farming is a prime example for this point as farmers have to face difficulties from low productivity at the early stage.

On the other hand, others would argue that individuals play a more vital role in improving the quality of the environment. The first prominent justification is that the intervention of the government will not equal to the better environment if there are not any appropriate consumption behaviors. For instance, only when individuals are aware of how much plastic he or she is consuming, will marine creatures be saved. Moreover, without the demand for green products, the businesses of sustainable sectors would not be able to maintain their operation no matter how much the national budget is spent. Last but not least, although environment-related awareness has increased, the behaviors towards sustainability still do not occur. In fact, there is a gap between the attitude and behavior of consumers which needs to be paid more attention by themselves.

In conclusion, although there are many reasons given to justify that governments should take responsibility for environmental problems, it seems to me that individuals play a more vital role in improving them.