Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

It is true that whether zoos are unethical or ethical for preserving wildlife is a subject of debate. While reasons can be given to justify the latter, the former is much more preferable.

On the one hand, zoo advocates would argue that zoos can be used for rehabilitating wildlife and endangered species. The first prominent justification is that zoos are regarded as a safe place for wild animals as they are brought into a safe environment which protects them from poachers as well as habitat loss. Besides, from an educational standpoint, zoos are also ideal places for bringing people and animals together by educating the public to protect animals. Children, in particular, are more likely to appreciate animals when they have the opportunity of approaching wild animals. By watching animal directly, children might have a more memorable experience rather than watching them on television.

On the other hand, animal right activists would claim that animal rights should be respected. Firstly, people do not have a moral right to breed, capture and confine any non-human creatures due to the fact that being an animal does not mean it has fewer rights than a human. Secondly, being kept in pens or cages might cause animals to suffer from stress, boredom, and confinement. For instance, research has shown that elephants in captivity do not outlive the natural ones. Last but not least, baby animals are put at risk of being sold to abusive circuses or even for slaughter when zoos face the overpopulation, and this also leads to a decrease in genetic diversity in the remaining individuals.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, although zoos are useful for conservation purposes to some extent, it seems to me that zoos should be shut down to ensure animal welfare.