Some people think that economic development is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others argue that economic development is damaging the environment and needs to stop. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The role of economic growth is pivotal to both the citizens and the environment. While some intellectuals argue that it curbs hunger and poverty, others however believe that it has negative impact on the environment. This essay agrees that economic development eliminate poverty and hunger, it will discuss both sides and give a concluding view.

On one hand, those who view the growth of the economy as means eradicating hunger and poverty feels it create jobs to citizens. It is an indisputable fact that majority of the the people residing in developed nations are free from impoverishment due to the availability and accessibility of industries, finance and material resources to meet ends. The United Kingdom is a typical example, because of it massive economic growth, they do not only provide employments for their citizens alone but they also make provision for immigrants from developing countries. Additionally, supporters of this idea also assume that those with extreme age; elderly and children are well taken of in nations with good economic growth.

On the other hand, opponents of good economy assume that it is detrimental to the ecosystem because of the effect of industrialisation on the environment. The fumes and waste produced in the oil and gas and aviation industry constitute nuisance to the earth; depletion of Ozon layer, noise and air pollution and the destruction of aquatic lives. Furthermore, there is the problem of deforestation and extinction of wildlife. In a research conducted by the National Geography in 2018, it was estimated that in the next 20 years some species of Hippopotamus and Elephant would be completely eradicated due to bush burning.

In conclusion, they are diverse views on economic growth, although some people feels that its eradicate impoverish lifestyle because of industrialisation, others are of the opinion that it destroys the ecosystem by deplelting the ozon layer However, this essay agrees that economic growth eliminate low livelihood.