Some people think that economic development is the only way to end world poverty and hunger. Others argue that economic development is damaging the environment and needs to stop. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

While it is believed by some people that reducing poverty and hunger is only done by economic development of any nation, others argue with that it creates detrimental effects on our environment. so, it should be stopped. In my opinion, I consider that saving environment is our first priority.

To embark on it, some people think that economic growth influences the environment and I agree. First and foremost, owing to growth of industries, it creates pollution of air, water and land. In other words, disposing harmful industrial waste in to water or agricultural land, which deteriorates water resources and farming land. For instance, in the survey of time of India, many rivers have been polluted, due to disposal of industrial wastage. As a result, water of rivers will not be able to use by mankind. Secondly, urbanization have negative impacts on rain forests. What I mean, many forests have been cutting down in order to expand of city or build new ones. for example, New York Times revealed that every year 21,000 square of kilometres of forest land have been used to make new town or expand city areas. Hence, above mention activities definitely hazardous for environment.

On the other hand, some people have flawed assumption regarding economic growth indeed helpful for alleviating hungerness and poverty rate. Firstly, they think that economic development can augment employment opportunities for people. If every person has a job, then he will be able to satisfy rudimentary requirements of life. As a result, standard of living can be increased and people are able to eat adequate foods. Secondly, using natural resources for developing economy seems worth it. By increasing economy of nation, we are able to help our people in terms of money and food.

In conclusion, even though economic growth has benefits like better quality of life and sufficient foods, damage of environment which should not be overlooked.