Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress, because what matters is the quality of their work.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people assume that it is unnecessary for employers to comment on how their employees dress since work quality should be considered apriority. In my opinion, I totally support this statement as what employers should pay attention to is not an insignificant matter such as employees’ clothes as they need to consider better work conditions and workforce competence as the main priorities.

To begin with, when employers are too critical of how their workers dress to work, employees cannot produce the desired productivity since they only care about dressing to please the bosses’ eyes instead. Thus, whenever they meet their bosses, they will adjust their clothes or hair first to avoid criticism from employers because of unprofessional appearances, meaning that the quality of work is underestimated. If workers only care about dressing to please bosses instead of focusing on working effectively, they might directly affect work quality. For instance, an employee’s work outcomes can be affected when they only focus on wearing professionally to the bosses’ preferences instead of finding ways to progress at work.

Moreover, in lieu of employees’ fashion choices, employers should be concerned about the work environment and employees’ work competence. These factors are decisive in work efficiency. Working in a friendly environment where employees and bosses cooperate to progress can result in better work quality. For instance, working in a friendly environment can motivate employees to perform better since they are carefree of competition at work. Furthermore, employers should pay attention to their employees’ abilities at work. Even if their employees are well-dressed but incompetent for the occupation, their contributions prove futile for a business. For example, when dealing with an unexpected problem at work, but the well-dressed workers are incapable of tackling it, they are likely to destroy a whole community’s productivity.

In conclusion, I believe that employees’ dressing ways are not what employers should focus on. However, they should be attentive to building a friendly workplace and employing competent people to improve productivity.