Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Others believe individuals can also do some things to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that solving environmental issues are too enormous for individuals. While a number of people say that individuals could find some solutions, I would argue that I am in favour of the latter.

On the one hand, the global issues could not be solved without assistance of governments. In fact, the governments have more power than individuals in these fields. For instance, they could introduce laws to limit emissions from factories. Also, they have budget source to invest in renewable energy from solar, wind or water power; then forcing companies use them to reduce the reliance on fossil fuels. Thereby, the governments play vital in solving environmental problems.

On the other hand, solving environmental issues should be the responsibility not only of governments but also of individuals. There are many actions people could do to reduce environmental pollution such as taking pubic transports rather than driving, using paper bags instead of plastics bags. Individuals should join one of the organisations which form part of the green movement, in order to campaign for chances to official policy on the environment or participating events relevant to improving environment. For example, people could support Earth Hour – one of the most influential campaign in the world because turning lights off one hour can save a lot of power and money.

In conclusion, although governments are key factors influencing environmental problems solving, it seems to me that individuals also make contribution to these issues.