New technologies have change the way children spend their time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the past decade, using new technologies is becoming prevalent recognized phenomenon to children. Although this may bring several downsides for children, the returns are highly justifible.

On the one hand, there are two drawbacks when children devote much their time to playing games and surfing the Internet. Firstly, over-using these technologies is waste of time by spending their priceless time to playing useless apps, instead of visiting their counsins or doing excercise. Secondly, they keep their eyes glued to computer and mobile screens many hours, they may suffer from eye-strain and health problems. My friend, for example, usually has a headache when he use hi-fi devices too long.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disvantages. Since knowledge source in the Internet is enormous, so children could spend time to broaden their horizons. For instance, my young daughter, often spend hours on the Internet learning English and new skills such as cooking and flower arrangement. In addition, youngsters have countless opportunities to meet friends from over the world with the same interests through using chat rooms and social network such as Facebook and Skype. As a result, new technologies both promote children’s self-study and assist them to connect with friends more.

In conclusion, I would argue that the advantages of these modern equipments are more significant than the disadvantages.