The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, furnishing public transport for all the time without charging a fee to solve traffic jam issue has become a subject of intensive debate. Although I agree that the government could serve free public transport to solve the problem of traffic congestion, I do not consider that it’s the best way.

On the one hand, providing free public transport is a major improvement in the traffic flow. Firstly, giving a totally free bus or train would encourage people to use public transport and avoid traffic snarl-up. Thereby, people could save money paying for gas, parking fees and taxes. Furthermore, this solution play a crucial role in cutting down the number of cars and motorbikes on the streets, and reduce the percentage or risk of an accident to occur is also high. Anecdotal evidence shows that one train could take about two hundreds cars off the road.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to take into consideration before applying a free public transport system day by day. Firstly, the administration will have to bear an extremely huge burden of costs. You may provide a system that’s free but offering a rather poor quality of service if you can’t afford to replace vehicles, offer better wages to drivers and so on. Secondly, there are a variety of dangers when people use public transport. For instance, the risk of being the criminal victim is high or people have to wait for a long time to have a bus or train. Additionally, driving at night may be perilous not only for drivers but also for passengers.

After discussing all the points mentioned above, I can finally conclude that the government should serve appropriately free public transport and combine with other measures to solve traffic gridlock.