Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Others believe individuals can also do some things to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that environment seems to be one of the most controversial issues in many countries. While some people consider that this problem is out of control to be tackled by individuals, I would argue that effort of human can alleviate environmental problems.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why many environmental problems are hardly possible for each person to address it. First reason is that a large number of environmental issues such as climate change, air pollution, land degradation or global warming require the intervention of all members of society and combine with all governments in the world. There is no simple way to address them without strong commitments from the government. Therefore, local and national authorities have been gathering together in a wide range of international conventions, seeking an effective solution to combat the spread of environmental issues, making global efforts in terms of environmental protection. Furthermore, the growth volume of traffic on road is mainly producing emissions which bring some adverse consequences on the atmosphere. As a result, it is only government could cut down on emissions from private vehicles by adopting strict policies to introduce restrictions on transports.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that citizens can take some measures to save our planet. Firstly, governments should offer a range of environmental awareness campaigns to educate people how good keeping the environment clean. It is also the effective way in long-term. For example, Singapore has been known for the cleanest city in the world because most citizens are equipped with knowledge about protecting the environment when they were children. Secondly, turning lights off before leaving a room can save a great deal of energy produced by burning fossil fuel like oil and coal. For instance, Earth hour is such a great global event that million of people around the world join in annually with the hope that their action of turning lights off for one hour can make a positive contribution on the planet.

In conclusion, although individuals are not able to resolve all environmental problems, it seems to me that individuals take small steps to reduce the rapid increasing of environmental issues.