Some people think that everyone has the right to have access to university education, and that government should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is believed that learning at university is the right of everyone, as well as all tuition fees, should be paid by the authorities. The previous opinion is rational, however; I am against this idea owing to its disadvantages that are discussed below.

In my point of view, every student has an equal right to go to college because today there are many ways to study college such as distance education, an online college…act. In addition, all students, despite their different backgrounds and financial situation, have the same intelligence and academic ability, thus the chances of admitting to university are equal.

However, the opinion of free college tuition is impossible for several reasons. First of all, providing free tertiary education might either push the national economy to a standstill or levy higher taxes since the government lacks the money to keep up the facilities as well as hire qualified teachers. Moreover, the increasing number of students affects the quality of education, which prevents teachers and students from interacting. If there are too many members in one class, they will be afraid to ask questions that lead to poor academic results at the university. Simultaneously, the free college education can distract students from learning because they don't need to worry about the fees, they need to pay. Moreover, the government also has supported policies for poor students such as encouragement scholarships, low-interest loans... act, this can allow them to have a lot of motivation to try their best at school instead of going to school for free.

For the reasons mentioned above, I agree that everyone’s right to pursue tertiary education, it seems to me that the government should not take responsibility for students’ university education fees because of limiting the negative impacts.