Many people hold a belief that the government should provide free university education systems for all citizens regardless of their financial background. I am of the opinion that it is better to offer such free programmes for only those who are best or special students.

To begin with, there are a variety of reasons why university education should be charged. First of all, it is unfair for those who might not access to university as their parents are all required to pay taxes. Secondly, due to the free educational system, a vast majority of school students tend to study higher education rather than pursuing vocational training, which leads to the lack of mutual workers. In addition, there is no doubt that the cost of studying in the university is not inexpensive. In Vietnam, for example, most of the students need 4 years of studies to accomplish his or her university qualifications. In my opinion, it is better for authority to allocate national revenue to other key sectors such as healthcare or public transportation.

Nevertheless, it seems to me that it is possible to allow qualified students to study in the university for free. For instance, by providing scholarships, a number of students who have excellent grade are able to access the university whether they have sufficient money to pay or not. Consequently, they are enabled to gain knowledge and qualifications, all of which are valuable skills in their next career. This is not likely to benefits those students who perform better educational results but also promotes other students to make best efforts to gain qualifications. As a result, the job market has more potential employees with higher performance.

In conclusion, it seems to me that authority should only make free university education programmes for those who have best educational performance.