It is true that a balanced diet plays an important role in people’s health. While many people think that the government’s duty is to ensure a good diet for residents, I believe that both governments and individuals should be responsible for their diet meals.

On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why everyone should take their own account for their daily meals. Firstly, people all have the right to decide what kinds of diet they want to follow. In Vietnam, for example, the vast majority of people have a vegetarian diet, in which people do not eat meat and they all eat vegetables or fruits instead. However, it is important for human’s body to absorb enough nutrients such as protein and all kind of vitamins in order to meet their energy needs for daily activities. Secondly, citizens are those who go to market or supermarket to buy foods for themselves instead of authorities, so they need to think carefully about its energy before making their decision.

On the other hand, the role of the authority in controlling their citizens’ diet also cannot be underestimated. One reason is that governments have a strong power to decide what kinds of foods can be consumed. For example, if authorities could ban unhealthy foods which cause several health issues, people would have a healthy eating habit. This is likely to enhance the quality of life. In addition, there is no doubt that governments are working for residents because of their benefits. It is more beneficial if the governments encourage or promote people to have a healthy diet through events or campaigns. They could spread the important role of diet in people’s lifestyle, especially young people who are not mature enough to decide which diets are healthier.

In conclusion, it seems to me that both governments and residents should be equally responsible for their balanced diet.