Some people think everyone should be a vegetarian because they do not need to eat meat to stay healthy. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Being a vegetarian has been becoming an ever-increasingly prevalent phenomenon for individuals around the world. Consequently, some people opine that it is a must for everyone to have a meat-excluded diet for health reasons. As far as I am concerned, although eating vegetables can meet the demand for the basic requirement for a balanced diet for most of the people, there are some exceptions, which means it is not the best choice for everyone.

On the one hand, scientific research, especially on biology and chemistry, has proved the viability to be a vegetarian from the perspective of nutrition. The basic nutrients that we get from food are indeed sugar, fat and protein, which is the same case for not only animals but also plants. Under this circumstance, meat products, as well as vegetables, play the same roles in providing basic needs for a healthy diet, which means the meat in our diets can be replaced by vegetables.

On the other hand, what we mentioned is only the minimum demand to stay healthy, and there are some exceptions, such as diets for injured people. Obviously, it is beneficial to supplement the diets for injured people with meat products because it will help them get back sooner. A classic example of this situation is that in China, people will prepare some hearty stew full of bones and meat for a patient if he is in the process of recovering from a fracture of the bone. Frequently, this is indeed a practical approach because meat products contain more helpful nutrients than vegetables.

On balance, it is admitted that people usually not need to rely on meat products to stay in good health. However, this is not true for everyone because supplementing a vegetarian with some meat can bring more benefits to his physical health when he gets injured.