It is true that privately-operated health services have become more and more popular besides public ones. In my opinion, despite some obvious disadvantages of private medical treatments, I would argue that these are outweighed by their advantages.

On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks when one chooses private health care services. Firstly, they are operated by profit-making organizers and this would lead to the case that money would be the first priority instead of people’s health. Unless governments put a restriction on service price, some private medical institutions will set high fee for prescription charges, which discriminates against those with lower income. Furthermore, due to being unrestricted by governments, private hospitals might employ less qualified medical practitioners. Consequently, the provided services do not come up with patients’ expectation and in some cases, this will put someone’s life in danger.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits of private health care services are more significant. The first reason is that patients do not have to wait for a long time to take the treatments they want. In public medical institutions, in contrast, there is oftentimes a long waiting list and therefore it is very time-consuming for patients who need immediate treatments or those coming for an irregular check-up. Another reason is that private medical institutions need money to operate constantly, therefore, they must provide the best services as possible to attract customers. Patients would be benefited from this since these institutions spend a large amount of money to employ highly qualified doctors and buy modern medical devices to meet their service user’s needs.

In conclusion, although private health care services expose some drawbacks, it seems to me that their advantages outweigh those disadvantages