Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Obesity is one of the growing concerns among children in todays world due to their preference of junk food over healthy, nutritious food. But, this doesn't mean that government is to be blamed for this arising situation and this essay will discuss the same.

Overall, children becoming obese is not sudden change and it can be controlled by monitoring the diet. Government cannot keep a check on every child's intake and it is responsibility of their parents to teach them the importance of healthy food. Certain people opine that government should impose restrictions upon the restaurants and companies from selling unhealthy food or guidelines so that the nutritive value of food is maintained. However, even if the both parties agree to these terms it is necessary for the parents to ensure that their child eats within limit and doesn't develop a habit of consuming excess leading to obesity. For example, if a pupils both parents are working, he would be only left with option to eat processed food at home or canteen if their parents have not cooked anything before leaving for the job. In such cases, parents should create awareness in child regarding the ill-effects of excess consumption.

Although, there might be certain steps through which government could increase awareness about this problem. Nevertheless, organizations do conduct regular checks on manufacturing factories to check whether the products are adhered to their nutritional guidelines, it is necessary for them to provide correct information about those products through advertisement. Initiative should be taken in conjunction with Non government organizations to setup regular camps and provide information to people regarding the the obesity and its effects in future.

In conclusion, there are various methods by which government could lend a helping hand in creating awareness about obesity but blaming them completely is not acceptable.