While a number of people underscore the important role of government officials to cease criminal act, others advocate that preserving one's life and the asset is a personal responsibility. There are compelling arguments on both sides of this contentious topic which will be elaborated in detail, followed by my own take on the matter.

On the one hand, one cannot deny that there are those reasoning in which social safety is the cornerstone of a flourishing nation and therefore any development in this respect has far-reaching effects on other areas as well. That is to say, inextricably intertwined with other aspects of life, crime prevention is believed to be of central importance directly resting on the shoulders of government officials. This is amply illustrated by the fact that the lack of security in any society will automatically bring about diminishing international trade and interactions. Along with this, governments possess the most powerful means named social media accounting for a tool to increase social awareness. Moreover, another justification is that safety is one of the sole criteria for measuring success when it comes to achievements which the government is liable to provide the citizen with the number of accomplishments.

On the other hand, we should not lose sight of obvious role of individuals that making headway towards a high level of social safety and protection is a personal duty in this opposing view. The most rational reason for their assertion is that people should be introverted and avoid fleeting-anger. Practicing interpersonal skills is a personal responsibility and allow people to learn how they can control themselves throughout addressing a problem wisely. Failing to cope with anger, in the most case, would impinge anarchy and eventually unlawful act in which government would not play a pivotal role in reducing protection and safety. That is why it is an individual duty.

To conclude, there are valid arguments on both sides of the controversy; on balance, however, it is my firm conviction that crime prevention has to become a burden to the government since other citizens can improve their practical skills.