Some people think that government should give financial support to artists, musicians, poets. Others think it is a waste of money. Discuss both view and give your opinion

The governmental financial support to artists, musicians and poets has evolved as a major topic of concern in modern society. While it is argued that the artists may not deserved to receive this support, I strongly believe that the government should back them up.

Some people believe that this trend could be wasteful. This is because they may use this budget to invest in promoting development of arts. The government could change curriculum which integrate arts subject in school curriculum. This will raise children awareness of the arts and help them appreciate their own culture values. Not only is it a sustainable way to promote the arts among youngsters but also less cost-effective for the government. They can spend this budget for other urgent problems such as healthcare system or welfare for society.

However, I’m in favor of the idea that supporting for artists, musicians and poets could be beneficial in some extend. The primary for my belief is that this arts would embody traditional cultures and customs. For example, a number of songs, poems, lyrics or even paintings were composed throughout history since it stores aesthetic values and course of history events. Without this masterpieces, people could lack spiritual and emotional needs, which may lead to decrease work or study productivity and even accelerate stress level in fast-paced society. Another visible benefit is that it is masterpieces that bring precious revenue for the country. Thanks to governmental investment, artists have great motivation to compose more masterpiece because they may not concern about their living. This trend will attract more tourists around the world, so tourist industry contribute a great deal of profit for the total GDP helping the country thrive. Take Puerto rico as an example. Only by a song named “ Despacito ” could survive one city from bankrupt and poverty to one of the most tourist attractions in the world.

In conclusion, although many people claim that investing financial support for arts, poems, songs can be not worthwhile, I personally think that government support for the artists could bring more advantages than shortcomings.