Some people think that the government should provide free public libraries in every town , while others think think this is a waste of money because people can get access to information on the Internet . Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Public libraries are commonly seen in many countries as multifunctional social venues where citizens can read, access the Internet, or borrow books for free. With the development of modern technology and many online platforms, some people argue that the Internet can replace public libraries. In my opinion, I am of the belief that these locations are still vital and can barely be fully replaced by the Internet.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people believe that free libraries are no longer necessary because the Internet can be an alternative way to access information. First of all, it is true that many original books are officially available in both printed and digital formats in today's world. To illustrate, some websites, such as Kindle and so on, provide a large selection of popular books, and consumers simply need to pay a modest amount to possess them forever. Consequently, users can read many copyrighted books from the publisher in an orthodox way. Furthermore, due to the COVID-19 pandemic restrictions, the library and other public places were closed for a few months. As a result, some people prefer to read e-books because it is not only convenient but also saves time on traveling to the library and prevents them from getting infected by the Corona viruses, which have killed the lives of millions of people. Therefore, it is clear that online platforms are becoming one of the most significant channels for people to acquire information.

However, I believe that people can benefit from the free library in a number of different ways. To begin with, public libraries have succeeded in providing residents with equal access to information, fostering an interest in literature and the arts, and promoting self-education. This might be explained by the fact that these venues play an essential role in providing accessible and completely free educational resource centers for all members of communities across the nation. It barely matters how much money you make at a library because all resources, including books, internet access, and educational and professional training programs, are free of charge. Hence, individuals and families, no matter of socioeconomic status, may count on their libraries to give them the resources they need to succeed as well as answers to vital issues that they would not be able to obtain on the Internet or in society. Another important reason is that while the primary function remains offering books that can be borrowed for free, public libraries have become community centers in many towns where citizens may choose to spend their spare time and come together to learn, share, and celebrate where they live, who they are, and what they want to become.

To conclude, in recent years the Internet has become a significant source of information. Nevertheless, I consider that it can not completely replace traditional public libraries that not only promote the enjoyment of reading, especially for those without computer literacy but also function as a community center. Libraries are truly remarkable places, and in today's world, we now need them more than ever.