Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is sometimes argued that state policymakers spend budgets in such areas like the arts that are not beneficial and there are other necessary areas which require allocating budgets. I completely agree that spending money in the field of the arts is wrong idea and governments are better to focus on other critical issues.

There are several reasons why I would like argue that funding the arts is wrong. Firstly, the arts are not integral parts of human life and funding of them is not vital priority of society. State managers today face huge challenges for example, record-breaking budget shortfalls, rising unemployment and increasing needs for public assistance, if they do not enough invest on these issues, in long term they face increased rate of debt or budget deficit, crime and other social problems which lead to spending more than wasted money on the arts.

Secondly, instead of developing the arts, policy makers should fight against environmental crisis which threats current and future generations’ life. For example, global warming as a significant issue need to governments attention in order to prevent the earth temperature increase 2 degree Celsius. This measure require significant budget that governments could promote and utilize renewable energy sources such as geothermal, wind and solar energy instead of fossil fuel resources. Thirdly, having healthy and athlete community is possible when that politicians allocate money to increase sport infrastructures. If these are not thought important because of low budget, governments spending increase more than invested money on the arts.

In conclusion, governments are better to pay special attention to other vital and essential social and global problems such as rising unemployment, controlling carbon dioxide emission as a main responsible of heating the earth and investing on population health.