Some people think governments should care more about the elderly while others think they should focus on investing in education for younger people.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The population of a country irrespective of the age-group is an indispensable part of its growth and success. It is often claimed that the major part of the government's funds should be focused on the educational facilities for youngsters. On the contrary, a section of society argues stating that the needs of elderly people should be of a higher priority for the government. This essay will emphasize various points targeting each aspect before reaching to a more balanced and unbiased approach.

It is an irrefutable fact that the young population plays a pivotal role in improving the country's standards. Being the nation's backbone they act as an incredible investment resource who will return a hefty amount of interest in the form of economic status with a higher GDP rate. Moreover, despite reducing the unemployment issues, funded educational opportunities help in eradicating criminal activities as well. For example, an educated individual will not get exploited in the wrong hands.

However, while managing one sector of society, ignoring the other can be a huge failure and hindrance to the country's growth. Although aged people can not contribute directly to the development of a nation, the benefits from their invaluable experience and knowledge can not be overlooked. For instance, they can transfer their years of expertise with young people for a promising future. Hence, a good amount of money should be fixed towards the elderly pension plan, healthcare facilities, and mental health. As it is a common belief that a prosperous country has a healthy population.

To conclude, the views on whether to divert funds towards young minds in favor of elderly care varies largely. However, in my opinion, the government should distribute resources equally among both the sectors, as each sector defines the country's prosperity in its own unique way.