Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions differ as to whether artists should receive financial assistance from the governments or they should be supported by other funding sources. I believe art creators should be assisted by alternative funds.

It is understandable why some people think that the authorities should spend their budget to support painters and musicians. One reason is that a majority of nowadays artists are living in poverty. A support from governments, therefore, would be of significant help to improve these art creators’ monthly income which impacts directly on their productiveness. In Vietnam, for example, a large number of artistic creations has been introduced to the public since the commitment of monthly funding to genuine artists was signed by the national assembly in 2015. Another reason is the equitable distribution of students in art majors would be greatly raised. When people know they are secured with a stable paycheck in artistic occupations, they will consider studying art subjects in formal education.

However, I would side with those who think that artists should fund their own projects with other money sources. One reason to support my standpoint on this matter is that the freedom of publicizing would likely be restricted when receiving money from the governments. Taking budget from the authority means that the creators of art are not allowed to freely publish their precious works without permissions. Thus, refusing national aid and considering alternative sources of money would leave their activity to no boundaries. Furthermore, there are various methods to gain money through making arts. For instance, painters could still make a living by tutoring other people who are interested in drawing.

In conclusion, I would say that artists should consider other sources instead of governments’ fund due to some detriments. Either one accepts financial aid from the authority or finds his own way, making money is still a key to encouraging his creativity.